Someone We Know by Shari Lapena

Maybe you don’t know your neighbours as well as you thought you did. . . . “I’m so sorry. My son has been getting into people’s houses. He’s broken into yours.” In a quiet, leafy suburb in upstate New York, a teenager has been sneaking into houses–and into the owners’ computers as well. Learning theirContinue reading “Someone We Know by Shari Lapena”

Beyond the Wild River by Sarah Maine

For fans of Kate Morton and Beatriz Williams, a highly atmospheric and suspenseful historical novel, set in the 1890s about a Scottish heiress who unexpectedly encounters her childhood friend in North America, five years after he disappeared from her family’s estate the night of a double murder. Nineteen-year-old Evelyn Ballantyre has rarely strayed from herContinue reading “Beyond the Wild River by Sarah Maine”

Girl Last Seen by Nina Laurin

Two missing girls. Thirteen years apart. An intense psychological thriller for readers of I Am Watching You, The Luckiest Girl Alive, and All the Missing Girls. —                         —                         — Girl Last Seen is a fascinating thriller toldContinue reading “Girl Last Seen by Nina Laurin”

The Handmaid’s Tale (show)

A few months ago I mentioned in my review of Margaret Atwood’s The Handmaid’s Tale that I was hurrying through the book to be able to watch the new series on Bravo. Tonight was the season finale and it was amazing. This is one of the few shows that – in my opinion – has far surpassedContinue reading “The Handmaid’s Tale (show)”

The Handmaid’s Tale by Margaret Atwood

Offred is a Handmaid in the Republic of Gilead. She may leave the home of the Commander and his wife once a day to walk to food markets whose signs are now pictures instead of words because women are no longer allowed to read. She must lie on her back once a month and prayContinue reading “The Handmaid’s Tale by Margaret Atwood”